Run Like a Girl!

a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step…

Give 5, Take 5, Send 5 September 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Malia Yoshioka @ 2:31 pm

Hi Friends & Family!

We’re really in the homestretch now, less than 3 weeks to go til our race. I’m now only $175 away from my goal of $3,000 for the Leukemia Society and training is going great! Last weekend I actually passed the half marathon distance – I ran with my coaches and teammates and we completed 15 miles, running for just over 3 hours, and I had no knee pain after! So I’m ready for the race, and I just need to wrap up the fundraising now! Again, thank you SO MUCH for all of your support and encouragement this year – it means the world to me to have you all following along on this journey once again.

The title of my email was Give 5, Take 5, Send 5 because I’m asking that:

GIVE 5: if you can afford to give just $5, you can make your donation online with a credit card at http://pages.teamintraining.org/hi/nikesf09/myoshioka – it all adds up!

TAKE 5: Take just five minutes of your time and…

SEND 5: Send this email along to just 5 friends, family, coworkers, etc.

Leukemia research is actually leading to breakthroughs with other forms of cancer as well, which is part of the reason that I am so passionate about this cause. Every mile I run, every dollar we raise, we are all moving closer to a cure for cancer, the ultimate finish line! Also, if you have a family member, friend, or loved one who’s been affected by leukemia, please feel free to let me know by leaving a comment here or on the donation page. A friend of mine is designing a necklace for me to wear that will be a reminder of all of those who I’ve dedicated this race to and I’d be honored to have your loved one included as well.

Thanks again!
Malia =)

P.S. It’s not too late for entertainment books! You can order 2010 books for all 50 states at www.tinyurl.com/entertainment2010 and the proceeds will benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. They’ll make great Christmas gifts this year!

 

Leave a Reply

