Run Like a Girl!

a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step…

John Kark: National Lymphoma Awareness Day September 15, 2009

Filed under: john kark,Uncategorized — Malia Yoshioka @ 6:31 am

John recently had his stem cell transplant and I’ve been thinking about him on my runs, trying to send positive vibes his way… He’s still got as much fighting spirit as ever, and took the time to write this note today:

I would first like to thank everyone for supporting Chicago Fight Club and Joe Massow in our effort to raise money for the Walter Payton Cancer Fund. Joe Ran the race in about 1 hour and 16 minutes and we raised over $1000 in just 4 days. Your contributions are much appreciated and made a difference.

I would also like everyone to recognize that today is National Lymphoma Awareness Day. Lymphoma is a blood cancer that affects the lymphatic system and was my first opponent in fighting cancer. I was diagnosed in the year 2000 with Stage 4 Hodgkins Lymphoma and had an inoperable tumor in the upper part of my spine. I received 6 months of intensive chemotherapy and a month of radiation through my throat to reach the tumor. I have been in remission ever since.

The AML leukemia that I fight today is a side effect of the treatment that I had for the lymphoma. It is the result of great research that is developing new treatments and drugs to avoid such side effects when treating lymphoma and some of my close friends have successfully received such treatments. As many of you know, I have benefited during my fight with AML from an experimental drug that was the direct result of research dollars relieved through donations. Without such treatment, I would not be here today to write this letter.

If you did not have a chance to donate to the Walter Payton Cancer Fund last week I encourage you to give what you can to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. They are a great organization that accounts for much of the funding that has led to ground breaking developments in fighting leukemia and lymphoma.

The ladies of Chicago Fight Club: Mindy Birdsell, Iris Davis, Jackie Christian and Gretchen Wroblewski and others that they have recruited, will be representing Chicago Fight Club in raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by participating this weekend in the NW Indiana Light The Night Walk at Lake County Fair Grounds on September 20, 2009.

Please donate whatever you can to support their effort to fight blood cancers by visiting their donation page:

http://www.chicagofightclub.org/LightNight09.html

Give what you can, no matter how small makes a big difference!

Thank You For Your Support,

John Kark
http://www.ChicagoFightClub.org

 

Leave a Reply

