Run Like a Girl!

a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step…

positive thoughts rock August 10, 2009

Filed under: john kark — Malia Yoshioka @ 12:36 pm
Tags: , ,

the latest from john kark!

Subject: Positve Thoughts Rock

A lot has changed since last week. On Friday the oral surgeons at the hospital cut open at the site of my wisdom tooth extraction and removed a piece of bone the size of a finger nail that was likely to have been causing the infection. They also cut away all the scar tissue and scraped away the jagged infected surface of the jaw. They packed it with a dissolvable antibiotic sponge and stitched me up. Since then my jaw has almost returned to normal. Also, the reaction that I had to the antibiotics leaving a drug rash is completely resolved.

I had been riding a stationary bike in the hospital that faces lake Shore Drive and I have always been a big fan of visualization as a healing therapy. So I came up with one using cars at night driving up and down LSD. I needed all of my white cells, red cells and neutrophils to go up so I could have an immune system and leave the hospital. As I rode the bike each night I would stare at the lights of the cars and imagine them all being new blood cells that my body was creating. The red tail lights were red blood cells, the white headlights were white blood cells and the big white ad signs on top of cabs represented neutrophils. Neutrophils are like super white blood cells that patrol the blood and kill anything that looks shady. Any time there was lightning it represented a radiation like effect and would also instantly kill everything bad in the blood. When there would be a traffic jam that was always because my body was producing so many healthy cells that things would just have to back up for a few minutes. I never thought a traffic jam could be a good thing.

Whether it was the visualization, the treatment or all of the positive thoughts from everyone…..it worked. My counts from Thursday until Sunday increased so drastically that the doctors surprisingly sent me home Sunday afternoon.

When I first got diagnosed my good friend Pete Bottini asked me if I was going to be like his mother who bravely fought breast and bone caner for many years. Before she sadly passed away last year after a long battle, his mother would make it a point to uplift the spirits of other people taking treatment. He wanted to know if I would rally the other patients on my floor and work on their attitudes. I told Pete that I had planned on being selfish and focusing on my own battle while I was in there, but of coarse I would do my part when I got out.

When I was leaving on Sunday the nurse told me not to forget the sign that I had hung on the door almost two months ago. I told her that I had traded it to one of my doctors in exchange for early release and was obviously glad to make good on the trade. She promised to get it to him and told me that my sign had started a trend. Signs started popping up on other doors throughout the chemo ward. I took one last lap around the floor to say my goodbyes and took a picture of one of those sign. I guess the lesson is that positive messages breed positive thoughts which breed positive outcomes. I thought of Pete’s mother when I saw the sign and thought maybe that is her way of saying that sometimes it doesn’t take much.

positve thoughts

When I got out of the hospital and smelled the air I could not believe it. It really felt like I was dreaming and I waited for a nurse to come wake me up and ruin my dream by taking my vitals or drawing blood. It was so crazy that she never came and I wasn’t dreaming. When we were driving on Lake Shore Drive, I said “I can’t believe it. Look at me. I am a big white blood cell driving on LSD.”

 

Leave a Reply

